移民和企业新闻

喝 (或使用药物) 驾驶有巨大的后果, 无论您是移民或美国公民. 除了明显的健康和安全风险, 财务费用, 和情感磨难的家庭, 下面的移民后果可能发生. Non-US Citizens For immigrants, ICE有抓人的DUIS政策 (通过在监狱制止器) 与围在移民拘留中心的被告. 你将无粘结被拘留! 如果你是没关系 … [阅读全文...]

入籍申请者所看到的等待时间延长面试和测试. 这是因为基于就业移民案件现在必须接受采访, 而那些正在与家人移民和归宗沿着预定. 此外, 有大量的人申请成为公民. 申请人需要准备询问他们的整个移民历史,从他们的第一个签证申请, 扩展, 住宿要求的变化, 绿色牌 … [阅读全文...]

特朗普政府已终止临时保护身份 (租置计划) 对于在到期日期的几个国家的国民 2018 和 2019. 确保让您重新注册申请的时间. 即使工作许可,可自动延长, 我们建议申请新的EAD,直到情况下,最终的截止日期,你需要一份新的工作或更新驾驶执照或其他利益. 这里是即将到期和重新登记TPS的列表 … [阅读全文...]

家庭移民的主要趋势是移民局在所有的请愿和应用程序类型的处理减缓, 在国家签证中心, 在美国领馆海外. 和, 采访正在不再像部分 "极端审批" 运动. 我在前面的文章中提到,对于状态的申请人的职业移民调整强制性采访时影响状态和入籍面谈的家庭基于调整加工时间. 在西雅图, 这里从前 … [阅读全文...]

特朗普政府一直非常, 非常繁忙解决商业移民在过去的一年. 三压倒一切的主题是:: 1) 在处理时间放缓在大多数类别和 2) 增加了对证据的请求 (RFEs) 在几乎所有移民类别和 3) 通过判决或政策备忘录的定义收紧. 接收RFE并不一定意味着一种情形将被拒绝, 但也有更否认在那里. 尽管所有人都在谈论需要 "基于优点" … [阅读全文...]

一月 9, 2018, 在旧金山联邦法院发出了对DACA程序的特朗普总统终止在全国范围内临时禁令. 该案是美国加州大学等诉摄政. 美国国土安全部. 法官下令移民局恢复续期受理申请DACA. 该命令不允许从应用第一次申报者, 它不允许提前假释申请量除特殊情况外. 从而, 机会之窗,延长 … [阅读全文...]

根据北美自由贸易协定 (北美自由贸易协定), 在TN非移民类别允许合格的加拿大和墨西哥公民寻求临时进入美国的经营活动搞的专业水平. 北美自由贸易协定包括资格TN专业人员职业的非常狭窄,具体名单, 其中之一是经济学者. 根据美国移民局上月出台了新政策 20, 2017, USCIS将具体看工作职责要执行, 不工作 … [阅读全文...]

节日期间出境游今年已经因为极度审批的风险更大, 严格审查, 旅行警告, 政策变化, 和不稳定的情况下,法律应对各种总统公告旅行禁令. 如果您需要申请美国签证在国外: 外事手册 (FAM) 在几个关键部分已更新. 领事馆依靠FAM指导和程序. 密钥更新今年包括要求在国外的联系和意图的更多证据 … [阅读全文...]

我在几年前拿起兰草小提琴,喜欢在不同的场地,包括酒吧团体果酱, 图书馆, 家庭聚会, 音乐节和研讨会. 我注意到,一些节日赞助商一直没能得到及时的外国车间领导还是表演者签证. 或, 有时酒馆喜欢主持来访音乐家, 还是需要最后一分钟换人, 有时云雀. 外国音乐家或他们的代理人经常被混淆关于他们所需要的签证或什么的允许 … [阅读全文...]

特朗普当局打击欺诈和不实陈述. 美国国务部 (DOS) 已经更新了其准则或政策的外交事务手册 (FAM) 有关活动与签证地位不符什么会引起欺诈或失实陈述的结论在光时,这些活动发生的. 先前, 在DOS中使用的 "30/60/90-天治。" 这条规则说,会有欺诈或失实陈述的假设,如果一个人进入 … [阅读全文...]

Immigration and Firm News

Drinking (or using drugs) and driving has huge consequences, whether you are an immigrant or a US citizen.  Aside from the obvious health and safety risks, financial cost, and emotional hardships to families, the following immigration consequences can happen. Non-US Citizens For immigrants, ICE has a policy of arresting people for DUIs (through detainers at jails) and confining defendants at immigration detention centers. You will be detained without bond!  It doesn't matter if you are … [Read more...]

Naturalization applicants are seeing longer waiting times for interview and testing. This is because employment based immigration cases now must be interviewed, and those are being scheduled along with family immigration and naturalization cases.  In addition, there are huge numbers of people applying to become citizens.  Applicants need to be prepared to be asked about their entire immigration history from their very first visa application, extensions, changes of stay requests, the green card … [Read more...]

The Trump Administration has terminated Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for nationals of several countries with expiration dates in 2018 and 2019.  Make sure to get your re-registration applications in on time. Even though work permission may be automatically extended, we recommend applying for a new EAD until the final expiration date in case you need it for a new job or renewed drivers license or other benefit.  Here is a list of the upcoming expiring and re-registration TPS … [Read more...]

The primary trend for family immigration is a slow down in processing of all petition and application types at USCIS, at the National Visa Center, and at US consulates abroad. And, interviews are taking longer as part of the "extreme vetting" campaign.  I mentioned in an earlier post that mandatory interviews for employment based adjustment of status applicants is impacting processing times for family based adjustment of status and naturalization interviews. Here in Seattle, where once upon a … [Read more...]

The Trump Administration has been very, very busy addressing business immigration in the last year. Three overriding themes are: 1) a slowdown in processing times in most categories and 2) increased Requests for Evidence (RFEs) in just about every immigration category and 3) a tightening of definitions by adjudication or policy memo.  Receiving an RFE doesn't necessarily mean a case will be denied, but there are more denials out there. Despite all the talk about needing "merit based" … [Read more...]

On January 9, 2018, a federal court in San Francisco issued a nationwide temporary injunction against President Trump's termination of the DACA program.  The case is Regents of the University of California et al v. DHS.  The Judge ordered USCIS to resume accepting DACA applications for renewal. The order does not permit first time filers from applying, and it does not allow the filing of advance parole applications except in extraordinary circumstances. Thus, the window of opportunity to extend … [Read more...]

Under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the TN nonimmigrant classification permits qualified Canadian and Mexican citizens to seek temporary entry into the United States to engage in business activities at a professional level. NAFTA includes a very narrow and specific list of occupations that qualify for TN professionals, one of which is economist.  Under a new policy issued by USCIS on November 20, 2017, USCIS will look specifically at the job duties to be performed, not the job … [Read more...]

Travel abroad during the holiday season has more risks this year because of extreme vetting, stricter scrutiny, travel warnings, policy changes, and unsettled case law dealing with the various Presidential Proclamation travel bans. If you need to apply for a US visa while abroad: The Foreign Affairs Manual (FAM) has been updated in several key sections. Consulates rely upon the FAM for guidance and procedures.  Key updates this year include requiring more evidence of ties abroad and intent … [Read more...]

I took up bluegrass fiddle a few years ago and like to jam with groups at various venues including pubs, libraries, house parties, music festivals and workshops. I noticed that some festival sponsors have not been able to get their foreign workshop leaders or performers visas on time. Or, sometimes pubs like to host visiting musicians, or need last minute substitutions, sometimes on a lark.  Foreign musicians or their agents are often confused about what visas they need or what the permissible … [Read more...]

The Trump Administration is cracking down on fraud and misrepresentation. The US Department of State (DOS) has updated its guidelines or policy in the Foreign Affairs Manual (FAM) concerning what activities are inconsistent with visa status that could give rise to a finding of fraud or misrepresentation in light of when those activities occur. Previously, the DOS used the "30/60/90-day rule." This rule said that there would be a presumption of fraud or misrepresentation if a person entered the … [Read more...]