تأييد

المشاركة المدنية

هل تعلم أنه يمكنك التأثير على مستقبل قوانين الهجرة لدينا، فضلا عن جوانب أخرى من الحياة المدنية? فمن المعروف أن في هذا البلد, المال هو السلطة, وإلا لديك, يمكن أن يكون من الصعب على الجميع ليشعر وكأنه لديهم رأي في التأثير على التغيير السياسي. لكن, ما أكثر الناس لا يدركون أنه حتى من دون قوة محفظة, لديهم حقوق لمعالجة سياسيينا اقتراح, دعم, أو يعارضون التشريع. حرية التعبير وحرية التجمع هي حقوق دستورية. على الرغم من أن بعض المشرعين قد تكون أكثر استعدادا لسماع من الناخبين الذين هم ناخبيهم مع باكز كبيرة, لا يحتاج المرء أن يكون الامريكية. المواطن والناخب المسجل أو لديهم الكثير من المال في الاتصال الممثلين المحليين أو الاتحادي. على الرغم من أن قيل ذلك مرات عديدة ان شخصا واحدا يمكن أن تحدث فرقا, ويمكن لمجموعات من الناس مع قضايا مماثلة أن يكون لها تأثير أكبر. وهناك أمثلة كثيرة من الحركات السياسية من جميع الأنواع التي كانت ناجحة لأن الناس مع مصالح مماثلة نظمت أعداد كبيرة من الناس إلى اتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة لإرسال, الكلام و / أو تثبت لإسماع صوتهم. الشباب DREAM والمجتمع المثليين مجموعتان الذين تمكنوا من إحداث تغيير كبير في قوانين الهجرة فقط في السنوات القليلة الماضية (مع القليل من المساعدة من المحاكم). وتحكي قصة شخصية مقنعة ولا سيما تأثير أكبر من مجرد خطاب أو لدغة الصوت. كيف تمت قانون تتأثر أنت أو عملك? كيف سيكون قانون جديد مقترح تؤثر عليك, عملك, عائلتك, الجيران و / أو الأصدقاء أو الزملاء?

هناك عدد من الطرق لجعل صوتك مسموعا:

  1. كتابة الرسائل أو رسائل البريد الإلكتروني لممثلك. ومن المؤكد أن تخبر قصتك.
  2. اتصل ممثلك - يجب أن تكون الرسالة قصيرة وإلى هذه النقطة. "يرجى دعم (أو معارضة) مشروع قانون XYZ لأن .... "المشرعون تتبع عدد ونوعية المكالمات (ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني). ول, وهذه هي غاية, مهم جدا.
  3. إرسال مقال رأي للالصحف المحلية.
  4. إرسال رسالة إلى المحرر ردا على مقالة لشخص آخر أو دعم معارضة الخلاف الرئيسي. وينبغي أن تكون هذه قصيرة.
  5. اقول قصة شخصية مقنعة لمراسل. للصحفيين في حاجة الى "هوك,"والتي عادة ما تكون قصة الفائدة الإنسان. (إذا كان لديك مستشار قانوني, التحدث مع المحامي الخاص بك أولا بشأن الإفصاح عن المعلومات السرية بين المحامي وموكله.)
  6. حضور تاون قاعات الاجتماعات والمجتمعية الأخرى حيث المشرع الخاص بك قد يكون الظهور والاشتراك أو الحصول على الخط في الكلام.
  7. حضور جلسات الاستماع العلنية التي عقدها المشرعين ومعرفة ما إذا كان يمكنك الاشتراك للادلاء بشهادته.
  8. VOTE! VOTE! VOTE! (إذا كنت الامريكية. المواطن والناخب المسجل).
  9. تاريخ و / أو المساهمة المال للمنظمات التي تدعم القيم الخاصة بك / قضايا. العمل مع المنظمات الأخرى على أن تحذو حذوها (على سبيل المثال, تنظيم القاعدة, بناء التحالفات, إلخ)
  10. دراسة القضية. تعلم وجهة نظر الجانب الآخر وجهة نظر وتكون قادرة على خوض تلك الحجج.
  11. العمل على حملة أو دعم أو التصويت لصالح المرشحين الذين يؤيدون القيم الخاصة بك / قضايا. مساعدة في الحصول على التصويت.
  12. عندما تنشر القوانين أو اللوائح للتعليق العام (كما هو مطلوب من قبل معظم وكالات لتنفيذ القانون الذي أقره المجلس التشريعي), إرسال في تعليقاتكم! هذا هو وسيلة محددة للغاية ومفيدة للتأثير قوانيننا.
  13. أنت, نعم أنت, لديهم الحق في التحدث مع المشرعين بك في شخص! قد يكون من البيروقراطية بدلا للحصول على موعد, ولكن الامر يستحق المحاولة. تطلب المشرع الخاص بك "جدولة". قد يكون لديك أفضل حظا الذهاب مع جماعة منظمة من الناس مع مصالح مماثلة. إعداد قبل أن تذهب. وضع قائمة من نقاط الحوار. لدينا بيان موقفكم جاهزة, جنبا إلى جنب مع ك "اسأل" - "الرجاء دعم / معارضة مشروع قانون XYZ." قل قصتك; ترك وثيقة "تترك وراءها"; متابعة مع "شكرا" بعد الاجتماع, وإذا كنت وافقت على متابعة نقطة, تأكد من متابعة.
  14. إذا كنت لا الامريكية بعد. مواطن, العمل نحو التجنس بحيث يمكنك من التصويت.

يمكنك متابعة آخر الفرص للمساهمة في عملية وضع القواعد على بلوق لدينا حيث نقوم بنشر معلومات عن اللوائح المقترحة تسعى التعليقات العامة. شاهد www.bswasserlaw.com/seattleimmigrationlawyerblog.

في ولاية واشنطن, تجد المشرع الخاص هنا

العثور على عضو الكونجرس الخاص, تحقق هنا.

في الامريكية. العاصمة عدد المقاسم هو: (202) 224-3121.

ترى لدينا الصفحة روابط لاتصالات الحكومة إضافية.

عن طرق سهلة الاتصال الكونغرس حول قضايا الهجرة الرئيسية على وجه التحديد, راجع "الاتصال الكونغرس" علامة التبويب إلى اليمين. بمجرد سد العجز في الرمز البريدي الخاص بك وحدد السناتور الخاص بك أو الممثل, سترى عينة قليلة الحروف التي أعدت جمعية المحامين الهجرة الأمريكية حول موضوعات الهجرة الرئيسية على استعداد لتخصيص وإرسال عبر البريد الإلكتروني.

Advocacy

CIVIC ENGAGEMENT

Did you know that YOU can influence the future of our immigration laws as well as other aspects of civil life?  It’s common knowledge that in this country, money is power, and unless you have it, it can be hard for everyone else to feel like they have a say in affecting political change. But, what most people don’t realize is that even without the power of the purse, they do have rights to address our politicians to propose, support, or oppose legislation.  The freedom of speech and the freedom of assembly are constitutional rights.  Although some legislators may be more amenable to hearing from voters who are their constituents with the big bucks, one need not be a U.S. citizen and registered voter or have a lot of money to contact local or federal representatives.  Although it’s been said many times that one person can make a difference, groups of people with similar issues can make an even bigger impact. There are many examples of political movements of all types that were successful because people with similar interests organized large numbers of people to take action to write, speak and/or demonstrate to make their voices heard. The DREAM youth and the LGBT community are two groups who managed to create significant change in the immigration laws just in the last few years (with a little help from the courts). Telling a particularly compelling personal story will have more impact than mere rhetoric or a sound bite.  How has a law affected you or your business? How will a new proposed law affect you, your business, your family, neighbors and/or friends or colleagues?

There are a number of ways to make your voice heard:

  1. Write letters or emails to your representative. Be sure to tell your story.
  2. Call your representative – the message should be short and to the point.  “Please support (or oppose) XYZ bill because….” Legislators track the number and quality of the calls (and emails). Therefore, these are very, very important.
  3. Write an opinion piece for your local newspaper.
  4. Write a Letter to the Editor in response to someone else’s article supporting or opposing the main contention. These should be short.
  5. Tell your compelling personal story to a reporter. Reporters need a “hook,” and that is usually a human interest story. (If you have legal counsel, talk to your attorney first concerning disclosure of confidential attorney-client information.)
  6. Attend Town Halls and other community meetings where your legislator may be appearing and sign up or get in line to speak.
  7. Attend public hearings held by legislators and see if you can sign up to testify.
  8. VOTE! VOTE! VOTE! (if you are a U.S. citizen and registered voter).
  9. Join and/or contribute money to organizations that support your values/issues. Work with other organizations to do the same (e.g., grassroots organizing, coalition building, etc.)
  10. Study the issue. Learn the other side’s point of view and be able to contest those arguments.
  11. Work on a campaign or otherwise support or vote for candidates who support your values/issues.  Help get out the vote.
  12. When laws or regulations are published for public comment (as required by most agencies to implement a law passed by the legislature), send in your comments! This is a very specific and useful way to impact our laws.
  13. You, yes you, do have the right to speak with your legislator in person! It may be rather bureaucratic to get an appointment, but it’s worth a try. Ask for your legislator’s “scheduler.” You may have better luck going with an organized group of people with similar interests.  Prepare before you go. Develop a list of talking points.  Have your position statement ready, along with your “ask” – “please support/oppose XYZ bill.”  Tell your story; leave a “leave behind” document; follow up with a “thank you” after the meeting, and if you agreed to follow up on a point, be sure to follow up.
  14. If you are not yet a U.S. citizen, work toward naturalization so that you can vote.

You can follow the latest opportunities to contribute to the rule making process on our blogs where we post information on proposed regulations seeking public comments. See www.bswasserlaw.com/blog and www.seattleimmigrationlawyerblog.com.

In Washington State, find your legislator here

To find your member of Congress, check here.

The U.S. Capitol switchboard number is: (202) 224-3121.

See our links page for additional government contacts.

For easy ways to Contact Congress about key immigration issues specifically, see the “Contact Congress” tab to the right. Once you plug in your zip code and select your Senator or Representative, you will see a few sample letters prepared by the American Immigration Lawyers Association on key immigration topics ready to customize and send via email.