拥护

公民参与

你知道吗,你可以影响我们的移民法的未来以及民间生活的其他方面? 这是常识,在这个国家, 金钱就是力量, 除非你有它, 它可能很难为所有的人觉得他们有发言权影响政治变革. 但, 大多数人不知道的是,即使没有钱包的权力, 他们有权利来解决我们的政治家提出, 支持, 或反对立法. 言论自由和集会自由是宪法权利. 虽然有些立法者可能更适合从选民听到谁是他们的选民与一掷千金, 我们不必成为一个中美. 公民和登记选民还是有很多钱可以联系当地或联邦的代表. 虽然它已经说过很多次,一个人可以有所作为, 人有类似问题的小组可以产生更大的影响. 有所有类型的成功的政治运动的例子很多,因为人们有相同兴趣的组织大量的人采取行动来写, 说话和/或展示给发出自己的声音. 梦想的青年和LGBT社区是谁管理,只是在过去几年建立的移民法显著变化两组 (从法院的帮助不大). 讲述一个特别引人注目的人的故事会比单纯的言辞或声音咬更有冲击力. 如何有一个法律影响您或您的企业? 新法案将如何影响你, 您的企业, 你的家人, 邻居和/或朋友或同事?

有一些方法可以让你的声音:

  1. 写信或电子邮件给您的销售代表. 一定要告诉你的故事.
  2. 打电话给你的代表 - 消息应该简短,重点突出. “请大家支持 (或反对) XYZ法案,因为....“立委跟踪呼叫的数量和质量 (和电子邮件). 因此, 这些都是非常, 非常重要.
  3. 写一个舆论一片为当地的报纸.
  4. 写信给编辑回应别人的文章支持或反对的主要论点. 这些应该是短.
  5. 告诉你的令人信服的个人故事记者. 记者需要一个“钩,“那通常是一个人的兴趣故事. (如果您有法律顾问, 跟你的律师先就泄露机密律师 - 客户的信息。)
  6. 参加大会堂并在您的立法者可能会出现其他的社区会议,并签署了或获取在网上说话.
  7. 参加由立法会议员举行公开听证会,看看您是否可以注册作证.
  8. VOTE! VOTE! VOTE! (如果你是一个中美. 公民和选民登记).
  9. 加入和/或捐款,以支持你的价值观/问题组织. 与其他组织合作,做同样的 (例如, 基层组织, 建立联盟, 等等)
  10. 研究的问题. 学会看对方的观点,并能够质疑这些论点.
  11. 在竞选工作或以其他方式支持或投票给谁支持你的价值观/人选问题. 帮助前去投票.
  12. 当法律或法规公布征求公众意见 (为实现由立法机关通过了一项法律要求大多数机构), 发送您的意见! 这是一个非常具体的和有用的方式来影响我们的法律.
  13. 您, 是的,你, 确实有说话的人你立法者的权利! 这可能是相当官僚拿到预约, 但它值得一试. 询问你的立法者的“调度”。你可能有更好的运气与有组织一群兴趣相投的人去. 准备在你走之前. 制定谈话要点清单. 有你的立场声明准备, 伴随着你的“问” - “请支持/反对XYZ法案。”告诉你的故事; 留下“遗留”的文件; 跟进一会后“谢谢”, 如果你同意跟进上的一个点, 一定要跟进.
  14. 如果您还不是中美. 公民, 朝归工作,让你可以投票.

您可以按照有助于我们的博客,我们在发布征求公众意见建议的法规信息的规则制定过程中的最新机会. 看 www.bswasserlaw.com/seattleimmigrationlawyerblog.

在华盛顿州, 找到你的立法者 这里

找到你的国会成员, 查 这里.

在中美. 国会大厦总机号码是: (202) 224-3121.

请参阅我们 链接页面 政府增加接触.

对于简单的方法来联系代表大会关于移民的关键问题,特别是, 见“联系会议”标签右边. 一旦你在你的邮政编码插上并选择您的参议员或众议员, 你会看到编写的几封样 美国移民律师协会 重点移民议题准备定制和发送通过电子邮件.

Advocacy

CIVIC ENGAGEMENT

Did you know that YOU can influence the future of our immigration laws as well as other aspects of civil life?  It’s common knowledge that in this country, money is power, and unless you have it, it can be hard for everyone else to feel like they have a say in affecting political change. But, what most people don’t realize is that even without the power of the purse, they do have rights to address our politicians to propose, support, or oppose legislation.  The freedom of speech and the freedom of assembly are constitutional rights.  Although some legislators may be more amenable to hearing from voters who are their constituents with the big bucks, one need not be a U.S. citizen and registered voter or have a lot of money to contact local or federal representatives.  Although it’s been said many times that one person can make a difference, groups of people with similar issues can make an even bigger impact. There are many examples of political movements of all types that were successful because people with similar interests organized large numbers of people to take action to write, speak and/or demonstrate to make their voices heard. The DREAM youth and the LGBT community are two groups who managed to create significant change in the immigration laws just in the last few years (with a little help from the courts). Telling a particularly compelling personal story will have more impact than mere rhetoric or a sound bite.  How has a law affected you or your business? How will a new proposed law affect you, your business, your family, neighbors and/or friends or colleagues?

There are a number of ways to make your voice heard:

  1. Write letters or emails to your representative. Be sure to tell your story.
  2. Call your representative – the message should be short and to the point.  “Please support (or oppose) XYZ bill because….” Legislators track the number and quality of the calls (and emails). Therefore, these are very, very important.
  3. Write an opinion piece for your local newspaper.
  4. Write a Letter to the Editor in response to someone else’s article supporting or opposing the main contention. These should be short.
  5. Tell your compelling personal story to a reporter. Reporters need a “hook,” and that is usually a human interest story. (If you have legal counsel, talk to your attorney first concerning disclosure of confidential attorney-client information.)
  6. Attend Town Halls and other community meetings where your legislator may be appearing and sign up or get in line to speak.
  7. Attend public hearings held by legislators and see if you can sign up to testify.
  8. VOTE! VOTE! VOTE! (if you are a U.S. citizen and registered voter).
  9. Join and/or contribute money to organizations that support your values/issues. Work with other organizations to do the same (e.g., grassroots organizing, coalition building, etc.)
  10. Study the issue. Learn the other side’s point of view and be able to contest those arguments.
  11. Work on a campaign or otherwise support or vote for candidates who support your values/issues.  Help get out the vote.
  12. When laws or regulations are published for public comment (as required by most agencies to implement a law passed by the legislature), send in your comments! This is a very specific and useful way to impact our laws.
  13. You, yes you, do have the right to speak with your legislator in person! It may be rather bureaucratic to get an appointment, but it’s worth a try. Ask for your legislator’s “scheduler.” You may have better luck going with an organized group of people with similar interests.  Prepare before you go. Develop a list of talking points.  Have your position statement ready, along with your “ask” – “please support/oppose XYZ bill.”  Tell your story; leave a “leave behind” document; follow up with a “thank you” after the meeting, and if you agreed to follow up on a point, be sure to follow up.
  14. If you are not yet a U.S. citizen, work toward naturalization so that you can vote.

You can follow the latest opportunities to contribute to the rule making process on our blogs where we post information on proposed regulations seeking public comments. See www.bswasserlaw.com/blog and www.seattleimmigrationlawyerblog.com.

In Washington State, find your legislator here

To find your member of Congress, check here.

The U.S. Capitol switchboard number is: (202) 224-3121.

See our links page for additional government contacts.

For easy ways to Contact Congress about key immigration issues specifically, see the “Contact Congress” tab to the right. Once you plug in your zip code and select your Senator or Representative, you will see a few sample letters prepared by the American Immigration Lawyers Association on key immigration topics ready to customize and send via email.