拥护

最新信息TRUMP执行行动/订单 这里

移民改革

这个页面的目的是提供背景和资源有关移民改革的辩论. 所有人都认为我们目前的移民法被打破. 然而, 似乎没有要在中美达成共识. 美国国会有关如何解决法律. 因此, 他们没有得到固定的. 移民律师特别适合用来解决缺陷 (和属性) 中美的. 移民法,因为我们“在战壕里”每天上班处理现行法律的应用到各种事实模式我们的客户现在给我们. 我们每天看到的缺点在目前的系统. 明显, 有雇主和其他人谁从现状中受益弱势群体继续,因为国会拒绝被利用来修复我们破碎的法律.

在中美. 国会有主有权决定谁可以让进入美国. 和谁必须去. 大会还对政府拨款的机构在政府的行政部门根据主席的形式分配资源, 负责执行由国会制定的移民法. 与此同时, 行政部门机构拥有酌情权,决定花费在国会通过分配给他们的钱优先. 出现这种情况在整个政府. 最后, 联邦法院解释法律. 不幸的是, 国会甚至未能带来票据为辩论和投票, 尤其是在众议院, 导致现状. 参议院通过了一项全面的法案六月 2013, S. 744. 民主党在众议院提出一项类似的法案, H.R. 15, 这是从来没有投票的截至记者发稿 (三月 2014). 众议院G.O.P. 已经推出了一些法案, 但他们都没有被付诸表决.192.168.1.1 在有些商店可能会发现,还没有上市的各种物品几个月可能在两个工作日的主题可能提供一次他们都在打折收尾区.

大多数人并不真正了解如何对现有美国. 移民系统的实际工作,或今天不上班. 大众叙事往往更专注于对非法移民和什么样的辩论做了数以百万计无证人在美国. 其实, 我们的移民法是一个复杂的网络或生态系统, 由下面的交织组件. 任何明智的移民改革提案, 在这家商行的意见, 应针对每一种主要领域, 是否在一个“全面的移民改革” (CIR) 法案, 制定或作为一揽子个别移民法案, 只要其他运动部件得到及时解决,使他们协同工作:

  • 执法和边境保护: 哪些指标应该被用来确定何时边框“安全”? 什么是“安全”的意思? 那是不可捉摸的度量, 永远不能达到, 和/或需要得到满足作为触发处理当前无证人口才不应该毫无意义,并受到从长远看转移政治风向. 这两种元素需要共同努力的生态系统的一部分. 一个常识执法法案应该有一致的人员培训和确保正当程序和人道待遇的人陷入了执法和加强移民和边防官兵的安全性都. 它应该恢复行使酌情权在迫不得已的情况下,改善拘留中心的条件标准. 它应该让雇主为雇用行为更负责任和避免,只是不工作边框技术在浪费纳税人的钱. 执法不应该损害边界社区的关系和经济,并应促进贸易和跨境有序流动 法律 产品和服务. 我们的执法需求有直接的关系正在发生什么的世界,我们在海外的外交政策左右 (见下文), 以及数目和选择可用于合法移民到美国类型. 缺乏合法移民的选择影响非法移民的流动. 执行立法不应在真空中,因为与下面的组件的相互关系制定
  • 合法移民: 我们有合法移民制度做出了临时签证, 永久居留, 与公民身份的路由. 我们需要现代化的法律类别为今天的经济, 家庭关系, 和移民趋势,以便有一个“行”,以进入, 即, 因此,人们鼓励和能来美国. 合法,而不是非法. 我们需要足够数量的每个类别分配签证,以便有一个有意义的线进入 (指的是帽子和配额). 我们必须确保在不提倡非法移民的方式合法移民的未来流量. (没有台词或类别来进入或没有足够的签证数量引起人们对“跳就行了。”) 值得注意的是, 当前的系统是从 1965 有一些调整,在 1990. 一个明智的合法移民制度平衡今天的经济现实, 该职位需要填补和技能的需要, 有需要家庭团聚,以及其他社会人口的需要和保护难民.
  • 无证: 我们怎样处理数以百万计无证个人目前在美国做? 他们递解出境的所有? 他们中的一些? 如果国会不可同日而语的法律地位路线, 它必须是有意义, 不是无尽岁月的迷茫状态. 我们做什么与此人口将反映我们的道德, 人类, 经济和人口的需求, 而成本或收入的个别纳税人和经济作为一个整体.
  • 正当程序与公平: 由于恢复过程中对系统至关重要, 包括向法庭, 获得律师, 和人道待遇的执法和拘留移民系统的, 并用最少的家庭的分裂. 我们需要审查和问责水平领事和边境官员的决定. 我们在这里会影响我们是否遵循宪法的任务, 审查提供低级别的决策者谁目前拥有不受约束的权力, 以及我们是否有一个民间的移民系统,是人性化与民事制度,把移民视为罪犯.
  • 对外政策: 我们需要回顾中美如何. 外交政策影响移民到中美. 我们的经济, 环境的, 国外, 政治, 和国外的人权政策影响着世界各地的移民模式.

要获取有关移民政策和各种观点的复杂性以及全面的视角, 请参阅下面列出各种无党派和党派组织的资源. (这并不意味着是详​​尽清单。) 一些组织所熟悉的技术移民问题的范围法律组; 有些则是学术或智库机构和研究机构; 别人是不同政治派别的宣传组, 从相关的人权事业, 刚/人道移民, 限制移民, 人口控制, 经济发展, 和关心的其他问题. 对于一个非常, 对不同的值非常有趣的报告, 消息或叙述一些对移民政策最强烈的球员, 看: 奥尼尔, M。, 海顿, 答:, & 西蒙, 一. (2014). 故事物质: 关于移民改革领域框架分析. 华盛顿, 直流: 框架研究院.
(对于组织,帮助移民或有涉及移民法或宣传等方面, 看到我们 链接页面.)

美国移民律师协会
移民政策中心
全国移民论坛
全国移民法律中心
移民法律资源中心
入境处平等
美国之声
美国公民自由联盟
OneAmerica
洛杉矶的人道移民权益联盟
全国律师协会的入出国及移民法项目
兰德公司
皮尤慈善信托基金/皮尤研究中心
布鲁金斯学会
移民政策研究所
城市学院
AFSA: 国际教育工作者协会
中美. 商会
美国各州 (香格里拉拉扎全国理事会)
南方贫困法律中心
UCI研究中心移民, 人口与公共政策
移民研究中心
联合会美国移民改革
传统基金会
美国的数字
美国企业研究所
卡托研究所

Advocacy

UPDATES ON TRUMP EXECUTIVE ACTIONS/ORDERS HERE

Immigration Reform

The purpose of this page is to provide background and resources about the debate over immigration reform. Everyone agrees that our current immigration laws are broken. However, there doesn’t seem to be consensus in the U.S. Congress about how to fix the laws. Therefore, they don’t get fixed. Immigration lawyers are uniquely suited to address the flaws (and attributes) of U.S. immigration law because we work daily “in the trenches” dealing with the application of current laws to the various factual patterns our clients present to us. Everyday we see the shortcomings in the current system. Obviously, there are employers and others who benefit from the status quo as vulnerable people continue to be exploited because of Congressional refusal to fix our broken laws.

The U.S. Congress has primary authority to determine who can be let into the U.S. and who must go. Congress also allocates resources in the form of government appropriations to the agencies in the Executive Branch of government under the President, charged with carrying out the immigration laws enacted by Congress. Meanwhile, the Executive Branch agencies have discretionary authority to determine priorities for spending the money allocated to them through Congress. This happens throughout government. Finally, the Federal Courts interpret the laws. Unfortunately, Congressional failure to even bring bills up for debate and a vote, particularly in the House of Representatives, has resulted in the status quo. The Senate passed a comprehensive bill in June 2013, S. 744. The Democrats in the House introduced a similar bill, H.R. 15, that was never voted on as of this writing (March 2014). The House G.O.P. has introduced several bills, but none of them have been voted upon.

Most people don’t really understand how the existing U.S. immigration system actually works or doesn’t work today. The public narrative tends to focus more on the debate about illegal immigration and what to do with the millions of undocumented people in the U.S. In fact, our immigration laws are an intricate web or an ecosystem, made up of the intertwined components below. Any sensible immigration reform proposal, in this firm’s opinion, should address each of these main areas, whether in one “comprehensive immigration reform” (CIR) bill, or enacted as a package of individual immigration bills, so long as the other moving parts are timely addressed so they all work together:

  • Enforcement and border protection: What metrics should be used to determine when the borders are “secure”? What does “secure” mean? A metric that is undefinable, that can never be reached, and/or is required to be met as a trigger before dealing with the current undocumented population should not be meaningless and subject to shifting political winds in the long run. Both elements need to work together as part of the ecosystem. A common sense enforcement bill should have consistent officer training and insure due process and humane treatment of people caught up in enforcement and enhance safety of immigrants and border officers alike. It should restore the exercise of discretion in compelling cases and improve detention center conditions standards. It should make employers more accountable for their hiring practices and avoid wasting taxpayer funds on border technologies that just don’t work. Enforcement should not harm the relationships and economies of border communities and should promote trade and the orderly flow of cross-border legal goods and services. Our enforcement needs are directly related to what is happening around the world and our foreign policies abroad (see below), as well as the number and types of choices available for legal immigration to the U.S. Lack of legal immigration choices impacts the flow of illegal immigration. Enforcement legislation should not be enacted in a vacuum because of the interrelationship with the components below
  • Legal Immigration: We have a system of legal immigration made up of temporary visas, permanent residence, and a route to citizenship. We need to modernize the legal categories for today’s economy, family relationships, and immigration trends so there is a “line” to get into, i.e., so that people are encouraged and able to come to the U.S. legally instead of illegally. We need sufficient numbers of visas allocated per category so that there is a meaningful line to get into (referring to caps and quotas). We need to ensure future flows of legal immigrants in a way that does not promote illegal immigration. (No lines or categories to get into or not enough visa numbers cause people to “jump the line.”) Notably, the current system is from 1965 with a few tweaks in 1990. A sensible legal immigration system balances the realities of today’s economy, the jobs to be filled and skills needed, with the need for family unification as well as other societal demographic needs and protection of refugees.
  • The Undocumented: What do we do with the millions of undocumented individuals currently in the USA? Deport them all? Some of them? If Congress devises a route to a legal status, it needs to be meaningful, not endless years of limbo status. What we do with this population will reflect our morals, humanity, economic and demographic needs, and the cost or income to the individual taxpayers and economy as a whole.
  • Due Process and Fairness: Restoring due process to the system is vital, including access to courts, access to counsel, and humane treatment of immigrants in the enforcement and detention system, and with the least amount of splitting of families. We need a level of review and accountability for consular and border officer decisions. What we do here will impact whether we follow constitutional mandates, provide review of low level decision makers who currently have unfettered power, and whether we have a civil immigration system that is humane versus a civil system that treats immigrants as criminals.
  • Foreign Policy: We need a review of how U.S. foreign policy impacts immigration to the U.S. Our economic, environmental, foreign, political, and human rights policies abroad affect migration patterns around the world.

To get a well-rounded perspective on the complexity of immigration policy and a variety of viewpoints, see the resources below listing various nonpartisan and partisan organizations. (This is not meant to be an exhaustive list.) Some organizations are legal groups familiar with the range of technical immigration issues; others are academic or think tank institutes and research organizations; others are advocacy groups across the political spectrum, ranging from causes related to human rights, just/humane immigration, restrictive immigration, population control, economic development, and other issues of concern. For a very, very interesting report about the different values, messaging or narratives by some of the most vocal players on immigration policy, see: O’Neil, M.,  Haydon,  A.,  &  Simon,  A.  (2014).  Stories  Matter:  Field  frame  analysis on  immigration  reform. Washington,  DC:  FrameWorks  Institute.
(For organizations that assist immigrants or are involved with other aspects of immigration law or advocacy, see our links page.)

American Immigration Lawyers Association
Immigration Policy Center
National Immigration Forum
National Immigration Law Center
Immigrant Legal Resource Center
Immigration Equality
America’s Voice
ACLU
OneAmerica
Coalition of Humane Immigrants Rights of Los Angeles
National Immigration Law Project of the National Lawyers Guild
Rand Corporation
Pew Charitable Trusts/Pew Research Center
Brookings Institution
Migration Policy Institute
Urban Institute
NAFSA: Association of International Educators
U.S. Chamber of Commerce
National Council de La Raza
Southern Poverty Law Center
UCI Center for Research on Immigration, Population and Public Policy
Center for Immigration Studies
Federation for American Immigration Reform
Heritage Foundation
Numbers USA
American Enterprise Institute
Cato Institute